I do, indeed, travel.

Toronto: Friday 515pm

Shopping cart on neighbour's lawn, always an auspicious sign.

Shopping cart on neighbour's lawn, always an auspicious sign.

Getting ready to leave my house and waiting for my mom to fuss her way out of the door. Might as well snap a few pics with the brand spankin’ new camera (thanks mom!) Early birthday present from mother dearest who shudders at the cost of shipping to Denmark (understandably.)

Luggage all lined up and ready to go!

Luggage all lined up and ready to go!

Wearing 321294 layers to compensate for the ridiculously cold temperature on the plane (plus that way less needs to fit in my luggage!)

Wearing 321294 layers to compensate for the ridiculously cold temperature on the plane (plus that way less needs to fit in my luggage!)

Toronto: Friday 7pm

I should be boarding the plane soon and it should depart within the half hour. Alas, a delay! but British Airways claims that I’ll still arrive at the same time, and who am I to question their lovely Brit accents? No, seriously, all of the staff are from across the pond even in the Canadian terminal. I guess they are exporting their accent everywhere to look more British haha. Conspicuously knitting a hat and taking up three seats.. I have a lot of stuff, fellow Gate C35ers, I’m studying abroad. Forgive? Actually I’m pretty proud only one of my bags is overweight. Anyway, I hope to complete this hat prior to landing. I should be able to do it if I don’t snooze I’m easily half done so I don’t really have an excuse. I can hear some voices over the intercom but my music’s too loud to make out the words, but I don’t see a mass exodus so I should be ok. Blogging on the phone is surprisingly far easier than I anticipated, and I think I prefer it to the computer cause I can pull this out whenever and when I’m on the laptop I’m too distracted by everything else. Plus telling the story in retrospect makes me leave out a lot of things (which is a good thing I suppose since I tend to be long winded. Oh well!) The only annoying thing is that the I’s don’t automatically capitalize but I think I can deal. I’m gonna have thumbs of steal by the end of this if I don’t already. A lot of people ask me why I don’t get a phone with qwerty keyboard, but I simply don’t see the need. I like my huge spacious buttons that know exactly what I’m trying to write. I can’t use an iPhone or Blackberry because my tiny fingers can’t accurately pinpoint the desired key! (I pity those with chubby fingers. Or maybe I just have Really bad aim. Cue joke about my athletic incompetencies.) Okay anyway.. I think I shall return to my knitting now.

Knitting a hat -- hands down most satisfying/easiest knit.

Knitting a hat -- hands down most satisfying/easiest knit.

Toronto: Friday 830PM

Wow I booked it so fast I lost both my hair ties in the process and I am now spluttering pathetically in my seat. If I have to pay for overpriced Danish hair elastics because I just happened to run out I will be very very aggravated. Before I continue this any further – omg British Airways planes have an upstairs compartment?! What?! I spot stairs!!! Would so snap a picture but I feel the people behind would Not be impressed. Anyhow.. The story from the beginning. So you know how I wrote c35ers? So.. I was actually sitting at gate 25. WHOOPS! Didn’t realize until 15 minutes before takeoff time and freaked out and ran for it. Props to my dear Heys luggage for keeping up without skipping. The wheels are truly remarkable cause they glided perfectly, even if my idea of running is a speed-waddle for most (I mean, even for normal speed walking most rolling has the occasional hiccup. Proud to say no such thing happened today!) Phew. Anyway.. Time to jet! I hope no one mistakes my winded hacking cough for avian flu when I go through customs later, haha. Note to self: exercise has real life applications. Like.. Catching flights if you’re moronic like yours truly. Time to depart! Will update soon because I am lonely and friendless and consequently bored.

I saw my neighbour's neighbour on the plane double fisting these awesome cute Coke cans. Naturally I had to insist on taking a picture of them (I seriously considered ordering a Coke just to get those but I decided that my dislike for carbonated beverages trumped my need to take a picture.) Still got the picture anyway! Thanks neighbour's neighbour!

I saw my neighbour's neighbour on the plane double fisting these awesome cute Coke cans. Naturally I had to insist on taking a picture of them (I seriously considered ordering a Coke just to get those but I decided that my dislike for carbonated beverages trumped my need to take a picture.) Still got the picture anyway! Thanks neighbour's neighbour!

London: 1030am local time, 530am in Toronto

Narrowly avoided being run over by one of those airport buggy/shuttles transporting an elderly couple. What’s the hurry? I saw them being driven back across the airport with the driver honking merrily (clearly, not really in a hurry.) Oh well, can’t fault people for having fun at work. Whenever I talk about the ridiculous accidents or close shaves I have in a day I sound like I’m exaggerating but it was honestly pretty darn close (and having been backed into by an SUV I feel I am an authority on motor vehicle-pedestrian altercations.) Anyway, I’ve been in London Heathrow airport for four hours. It’s a very pleasant and modern airport. I thoroughly explored floors 2 and 3 and entered nearly all the shops.

Heathrow map is so cool! Colour-coded fluorescent plastic marks each store.

Heathrow map is so cool! Colour-coded fluorescent plastic marks each store.

The duty-free Harrod’s folks are very very aggressive.. I hate aggressive sales staff. That’s the only con I can think of so far. Food here is pretty expensive but I got a prepackaged set of three sandwiches for 3 pounds which is most reasonable imo and a face wash for 1.5 pounds which is a steal.

Super glam lunch purchased from Boots. Prepackaged sandwiches! Prawn mayo, chicken cucumber, BLT. Delish.

Super glam lunch purchased from Boots. Prepackaged sandwiches! Prawn mayo, chicken cucumber, BLT. Delish.

I find it funny that Bourjois is a drugstore brand here and is priced as such even though it is manufactured by Chanel (I think.) To be fair, drugstore products are marked up here, but so is everything else, so I guess luxury products here are relatively more accessible here (i.e. double drugstore versus triple)? Just a hypothesis.. Anyway. Also purchased assam tea it looks delicious and strong and the package recommends adding milk which sounds right up my alley. I’m glad I got that instead of getting an overpriced glass of orange juice and hanging around loner style in a random restaurant. I should probably get used to sitting around alone in restaurants and cafes sooner rather than later though if I keep moving around! On a wholly unrelated note, the British Airways flight crew is the most friendly I have ever experienced. Time to fly to Copenhagen.. Quite, quite excited!

I am the über tourist. So I insisted on taking a picture of the extremely spacious toilet stall. Plus, check out the toilet bowl! Pretty nifty.

I am the über tourist. So I insisted on taking a picture of the extremely spacious toilet stall. Plus, check out the toilet bowl! Pretty nifty.

Aha! Prêt's origins.

Aha! Prêt's origins.

I don't get cars but it claims it's Best of the Best.

I don't get cars but it claims it's Best of the Best.

Wagamama! That name needs no explanation.

Wagamama! That name needs no explanation.

... Wall of Shoes! Only thing more awesome is the Great Wall of China.

... Wall of Shoes! Only thing more awesome is the Great Wall of China.

Securrrrrity! was pretty slow. Oh well. Wait, is taking pictures of security legal?

Securrrrrity! was pretty slow. Oh well. Wait, is taking pictures of security legal?

Hello Chef Ramsay!

Hello Chef Ramsay!

I tried taking a picture with my face next to the mail slot and it turned out hideous so I settled for one without my face.

I tried taking a picture with my face next to the mail slot and it turned out hideous so I settled for one without my face.

Captain Morgan's clearly isn't the same overseas!

Captain Morgan's clearly isn't the same overseas!

Burt's Bees overpriced overseas as expected. Good thing I literally brought 10+ tubes.

Burt's Bees overpriced overseas as expected. Good thing I literally brought 10+ tubes.

Cool ceiling at the gate! ... bye (real) London!

Cool ceiling at the gate! ... bye (real) London!

1 Comment »

  1. miffy Said:

    zebra suitcasee 😀
    wall of shoes :D:D
    (sorry the wall of shoes got 2 smileys cause i’ve never seen one before:(()


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

