Not a fan of Amager Strand.

So the girl behind me in my Danish crash course kept raving about the beach so I felt sort of obliged to check it out at least once. So yesterday was blue skies and 20-odd degrees so it seemed like a nice beautiful day to go. So go I went! (Three so’s in a row.. charming.) Anyway, yeah… So not a fan. First of all, it’s crazy windy out there so I froze to death (and I’m from Canada! I’m supposed to be used to this!) The windiness whips sand and gravel and shells at you and induces quite a bit of pain (makes me think of little imps pinching me, hah.) Second, the sand is littered with tons and tons of sea shells and rocks that hurt! (Whine, whine, whine.) Third, it’s kind of dirty looking, but I guess that’s a minor issue. Bigger problem is the lack of real soft sand and warmth.

Nevertheless, V and I were determined to stick it out and spend some time there just to say we did.

This picture sums up the beach pretty nicely. Tons of fragments in the sand rendering it horribly painful to lay down and lots of wind (see those grassy stalks bending in the breeze?) And of course, a nice blue sky, because yesterday was a good day.

This picture sums up the beach pretty nicely. Tons of fragments in the sand rendering it horribly painful to lay down and lots of wind (see those grassy stalks bending in the breeze?) And of course, a nice blue sky, because yesterday was a good day.

Perks of insane wind -- tons of parasailers and windsurfers. I swear, they were zipping around so fast, they looked like they were motorized! But nope! And even though these people were super pro and never tangled up their sails, some people could barely stand while holding their parasails on the beach because it was just so darn windy! Parasailing's kinda complicated -- you have to get your parasail way up and blowing in the air, and then carefully make your way down to the water and put on your board thing, sit in the water, and then adjust your parasail properly so that the wind rapidly drags you forward and from then on it's up to you to adjust it properly! ... Or so I gathered. Never tried, myself.

Perks of insane wind -- tons of parasailers and windsurfers. I swear, they were zipping around so fast, they looked like they were motorized! But nope! And even though these people were super pro and never tangled up their sails, some people could barely stand while holding their parasails on the beach because it was just so darn windy! Parasailing's kinda complicated -- you have to get your parasail way up and blowing in the air, and then carefully make your way down to the water and put on your board thing, sit in the water, and then adjust your parasail properly so that the wind rapidly drags you forward and from then on it's up to you to adjust it properly! ... Or so I gathered. Never tried, myself.

Danish folk are a hardy species. I swear. Nothing permeates their hides. They refuse to be ruffled. Exhibit A: Little Danish girls happily frolicking in the "sand" (read: deathly-sharp shell fragments) in the ice-cold water while enduring the unforgivingly harsh wind (which, may I remind you, peppers you with said sharp fragments). Dude, wtf. My blood circulation = fail.

Danish folk are a hardy species. I swear. Nothing permeates their hides. They refuse to be ruffled. Exhibit A: Little Danish girls happily frolicking in the "sand" (read: deathly-sharp shell fragments) in the ice-cold water while enduring the unforgivingly harsh wind (which, may I remind you, peppers you with said sharp fragments). Dude, wtf. My blood circulation = fail.

Really sick windsurfer dude. This picture fails to accurately depict just how fast he was but hopefully you have some indication based on the wake he made. (And remember, no motor!!)

Really sick windsurfer dude. This picture fails to accurately depict just how fast he was but hopefully you have some indication based on the wake he made. (And remember, no motor!!)

Oh look a helicopter! It landed like 200m from where I was standing, no joke.

Oh look a helicopter! It landed like 200m from where I was standing, no joke.

Well after that we were thoroughly frozen and really needed to get back on the train. But we decided that rather than go home, we would continue our excursion by going to the mall! SHOPPING! On the way there we each ate two apples, yum yum.

When we got into the mall we saw an awesome cake shop (!!!) and resisted the temptation to buy four slices of cake (there was special pricing for four slices, ok) but failed to resist the chocolate shop.

Flødeboller: A ball of cream on a cookie-type thing and covered in chocolate.

Flødeboller: A ball of cream on a cookie-type thing and covered in chocolate.

There's a Build a Bear in Copenhagen who would've thought. Reminds me of the crazy chipper girl who works at the one in NY...

There's a Build a Bear in Copenhagen who would've thought. Reminds me of the crazy chipper girl who works at the one in NY...

OMG really hot leather (?!) dress that I seriously covet it is so so so cool and I am so so so poor. Life, you are too cruel.

OMG really hot leather (?!) dress that I seriously covet it is so so so cool and I am so so so poor. Life, you are too cruel.

The damage:

Okay, so, I’m a little shopping-starved, so I bought quite a few items (each which cost 20 usd, haha, like actually, they all had the same price tag.) Forgive? I got a bra (hooray for Europe and their many sizes); a dress (it’s a little big and lactating mother-y BUT it’s very cute and has lots of flounce and provides me with great happiness and well, whatever, it’ll be one of the few things that will fit me at the end of the semester with all the cookies and cheese I’ve been eating); a Topshop cardigan (big, green, long, and exactly the kind I’ve wanted for ages but it’s a size too big, oh well!); and a long tank made entirely of lace (it’s sooooo gorge.) I did resist the temptation to buy these really hot hot pink cut out heels because they were synthetic and I don’t like synthetic 😦 but they were so cheap.. Sigh.

Got home at 9 or so and was very very sandy/dirty when I was told there would be a party at KK (Katherine Kollegiet), another dorm. It’s pretty far — 20-25 minutes walk, and I never want to go there even though K and V live there because it’s just such a longggg haul. I showered speedily and headed out with T. On the way there it was pretty cold but we were talking and beer-ing so it wasn’t too bad. Half an hour after we got there it started raining which was a real bummer. So… we were rained on all the way home too. All in all, not a fun party (thanks a lot, weather!) and I was reasonably tired when I got home.

As for today, I went to Danish class and.. that’s pretty much it. Haha. Bought more groceries.. Made more dumplings.. Ate almost a whole pack of chocolate chip cookies.. Finished my Danish homework (is it wrong for me to say I miss doing homework? I miss doing homework. Like brainless fun homework i.e. Danish homework. It’s good practice and it’s so easy!) Kind of need to think of what to do tomorrow.

Also I need to iron out and finalize plans for Eurotrip me-stylez. I am planning to hop around Europe during fall break and have figured out all the flight logistics but not what I’ll be doing at each city so.. yeah.

Leave a Reply

