Grocery shopping

Yesterday when I went grocery shopping the Danish guy behind me had the following items in his basket:

– 5 bottles of cherry wine

– 3 packs of bread: 2 packs of rye bread, 1 pack of white buns

– some non-food item

I think this is pretty representative of the Danish Diet: bread coupled with lots of booze. 😉

Also, I forgot to talk about an incident that occurred while leaving Kulor Bar!!! My friend and I were laughing about it today. Anyway.. a group of “visible minorities” (for lack of a better phrase) was sitting on the street corner and when T, C and I walked past one of them started following us and talking to us. We tried to ignore him as best we could but he kept stalking us around until finally C was like, “Go away you f**ker” but that kind of failed to tame the beast. Then he started to guess where I was from, and this is where the story turns AWESOME. He was like, “What are you? Japanese? Chinese? Korean?” And I was like… “Excuse me, are you making fun of me because i’m a MINORITY? Please don’t make any assumptions about me just because I’m Asian. You don’t know anything about me. Stop being racist.” AND HE WAS COMPLETELY BAFFLED. Yo guys, I just threw the race card at a visible minority’s face. EAT THAT, SUCKAAAAAA! So basically, he didn’t know how to respond. Finally after a moment of silence he asked whether he should get a hot dog or eat at his ex’s place, and when I suggested that he eat chez ex he opted for a hot dog (how contrary!) and left. Um.. best moment in life ever.

I’ve sorted out my itinerary and I will try to post it sometime. What’s on the menu: starting Wednesday night next week, I will hit London, Madrid, Rome, and Riga en route to Copenhagen. My phone *should* have roaming, and I’m going to test it when I take the free bus to Malmo, Sweden on Thursday and Friday. (I promised two different people I’d go and they were going on different days. Oh well! It’s free anyway.) The places I’ll be staying at do have internet I think so I’ll try to keep you guys posted but no guarantees…

And, I think I’m going to go to Amsterdam the weekend after. Woop woo! I just have to plan it really well, well in advance so that it’s cheaper. I think tonight I will draw up a list of all the locations I’d like to visit and compare/contrast that cost with the cost of getting a Eurail pass (which is almost undoubtedly more expensive but allows for last-minute travel, kind of key since CBS is really bad with exams.)

I was going to write something else but I forgot 😦 I’ll try to keep you guys posted… Just wanted to share that story with you. Being a minority has perks!

(S)norlax! Hehehehe. Because I'm really mature in a grocery store.

(S)norlax! Hehehehe. Because I'm really mature in a grocery store.

Awkward Kids Club: I walked straight into that little bicycle stop light below the main stop light. Yup. It was really sunny today, I'm sure you can tell from the photo :)

Awkward Kids Club: I walked straight into that little bicycle stop light below the main stop light. Yup. It was really sunny today, I'm sure you can tell from the photo 🙂

The start of tonight's Temptation Tuesday! On the menu today: two plates of fries (we bought FOUR FROZEN BAGS!), that tub of ice cream sundae, salmon steak, pasta carbonara with bacon, and chocolate fondue (marble cake, brownie cake, HARIBO MARSHMALLOWS -- yes, they exist)! ...Yeah there's only three of us. Well on my way to obesity, my friends.

The start of tonight's Temptation Tuesday! On the menu today: two plates of fries (we bought FOUR FROZEN BAGS!), that tub of ice cream sundae, salmon steak, pasta carbonara with bacon, and chocolate fondue (marble cake, brownie cake, HARIBO MARSHMALLOWS -- yes, they exist)! ...Yeah there's only three of us. Well on my way to obesity, my friends.

Leave a Reply

