One (wo)man’s trash is another (wo)man’s treasure

Today I went to pay the Frederiksberg flea market a visit. I figured since I was going to markets in foreign cities.. I should check out our own! I feel really stupid for never visiting it before, it has a lot of great stuff for cheap! It runs every Saturday but next Saturday is the last one.. dangnabbit! I think I’m in love!

On a side note, why do they call them flea markets? What an unappealing name. Like Acne brand jeans… what were they thinking? The first time I read it I thought it was supposed to be ACME but.. alas.

I cleaned up my closet so it only felt appropriate that I play dressup in my own closet before embarking on my thrifty adventure! So here’s what I wore:

Wearing my new stuff from my trip! Tank - TRF by Zara, 4 Euro = 6 USD. I think this is a fabulous replacement for my favourite Kenzie beater that I lost three years ago. I also got this in forest green. A lot of beaters tend to make me look really fat but this one minimizes it a little. Yay! And is soft and comfy to boot. Plus the fabric looks kinda waffly even though it's ribbed. Sequin belt from Primark, 1 GBP = 1.6 USD. LOVE!!! Super stretchy and not tight/squeezy at all, and absolutely covered in sequins. I'm pretty sure I couldn't buy the same amount of strung sequins wholesale for that price. Skirt with zipper detail from Primark for 2 pounds = 3.25 USD. It's a size too big but skirts are nice and forgiving, and it's super cheap and cheery. Sweater is one of my favourites from Parasuco that my mom got for me, and I'm also wearing dark gray tights and black boots. Because you care.

Wearing my new stuff from my trip! Tank - TRF by Zara, 4 Euro = 6 USD. I think this is a fabulous replacement for my favourite Kenzie beater that I lost three years ago. I also got this in forest green. A lot of beaters tend to make me look really fat but this one minimizes it a little. Yay! And is soft and comfy to boot. Plus the fabric looks kinda waffly even though it's ribbed. Sequin belt from Primark, 1 GBP = 1.6 USD. LOVE!!! Super stretchy and not tight/squeezy at all, and absolutely covered in sequins. I'm pretty sure I couldn't buy the same amount of strung sequins wholesale for that price. Skirt with zipper detail from Primark for 2 pounds = 3.25 USD. It's a size too big but skirts are nice and forgiving, and it's super cheap and cheery. Sweater is one of my favourites from Parasuco that my mom got for me, and I'm also wearing dark gray tights and black boots. Because you care.

Aww.. Copenhagen's so cute. This is part of the area where people had their stuff up. (Actually it's just in a parking lot lol.)

Aww.. Copenhagen's so cute. This is part of the area where people had their stuff up. (Actually it's just in a parking lot lol.)

I found this box of naked dolls lying out in the sun really creepy. But snap-worthy. Ugh, dolls. There is a reason why I didn't play with them as a kid -- they're weird!

I found this box of naked dolls lying out in the sun really creepy. But snap-worthy. Ugh, dolls. There is a reason why I didn't play with them as a kid -- they're weird!

The flea market gets its own hot dog stand!!! ...lolllll.

The flea market gets its own hot dog stand!!! ...lolllll.

HAHAHAHA... truly a gem. Red pleather with red goat hair zebra pattern.. do not understand. But amazing.

HAHAHAHA... truly a gem. Red pleather with red goat hair zebra pattern.. do not understand. But amazing.

Splish splash! Bird taking a bath in a puddle. Cuuuute.

Splish splash! Bird taking a bath in a puddle. Cuuuute.

One of the most awesome sweaters I've seen in a long ime. Psychedelic black and white with black and white vertical triangle things. I'm pinching it at the back because it's got that huge vintage cut where the armpit hangs like a foot long lol. 45 DKK = 9 USD.

One of the most awesome sweaters I've seen in a long ime. Psychedelic black and white with black and white vertical triangle things. I'm pinching it at the back because it's got that huge vintage cut where the armpit hangs like a foot long lol. 45 DKK = 9 USD.

Yeah.. that big. Oh well, it's cozy! I'm kind of love with the pattern anyway.

Yeah.. that big. Oh well, it's cozy! I'm kind of love with the pattern anyway.

Because I can never have enough cardigans! Perfect size and length, nice round buttons, nice round neckline. 15 DKK = 3 USD.

Because I can never have enough cardigans! Perfect size and length, nice round buttons, nice round neckline. 15 DKK = 3 USD.

It's tunic length so it feels kinda swishy! Kinda. Or I'm crazy. I hear that a lot.

It's tunic length so it feels kinda swishy! Kinda. Or I'm crazy. I hear that a lot.

So I discovered when my camera is out of focus it's actually really slimming. Too bad you can't see what I'm wearing, which was the intended point of the photo.

So I discovered when my camera is out of focus it's actually really slimming. Too bad you can't see what I'm wearing, which was the intended point of the photo.

BABY GOT BACK.. not. So I got this awesome green and blue plaid skirt but it's a bit too small (it's high waisted and attempts to squeeze my tummy into a size it cannot possibly be) so I need to get it tailored. For now.. I will just cover it with a shirt. But as you can see.. the zip doesn't *really* go all the way hahaha. (Hey man, I couldn't try it on ok!) In any case, it was an absolute steal -- 10 DKK = 5 USD. Fully lined and made i Danmark!

BABY GOT BACK.. not. So I got this awesome green and blue plaid skirt but it's a bit too small (it's high waisted and attempts to squeeze my tummy into a size it cannot possibly be) so I need to get it tailored. For now.. I will just cover it with a shirt. But as you can see.. the zip doesn't *really* go all the way hahaha. (Hey man, I couldn't try it on ok!) In any case, it was an absolute steal -- 10 DKK = 2 USD. Fully lined and made i Danmark!

The amazing fabric. Usually when people mix green and blue in plaid it's a foresty green with a navy blue.. this one was super basic green-green and royal blue. Like honestly, the most basic primary colours you could get clashing together in plaid. Ah-mazing!

The amazing fabric. Usually when people mix green and blue in plaid it's a foresty green with a navy blue.. this one was super basic green-green and royal blue. Like honestly, the most basic primary colours you could get clashing together in plaid. Ah-mazing!

BRAND NEW WITH TAGS tunic top in a nice forest green (holy bajeez, I feel like I've typed the words "forest green" like ten times already.. what is with this green fixation). The print is kind of like a checkerboard: one "colour" is skinny diagonal black stripes, the other "colour" is blank except with a small gridded black square in the very middle. Cool puffy sleeves: check. Covers my butt: check. Dark colour: check. Kulorbar-able: check! 30 DKK = 6 USD. Also, check out that belt!!! It's the most amazing belt but unfortunately way too big for me, but I'm wearing it anyway. It's made up of three pieces, the middle piece is repeated at the top and bottom, but where it fastens, only the middle piece is present. Each piece is made of interlocking pieces of leather that look like pop can tabs. They are connected with a piece of leather that all three pieces hook on to, but only the middle piece continues on, and the leather thing tapers. It's kind of hard to explain but it looks really cool in person! Serious. 20 DKK = 4 USD.

BRAND NEW WITH TAGS tunic top in a nice forest green (holy bajeez, I feel like I've typed the words "forest green" like ten times already.. what is with this green fixation). The print is kind of like a checkerboard: one "colour" is skinny diagonal black stripes, the other "colour" is blank except with a small gridded black square in the very middle. Cool puffy sleeves: check. Covers my butt: check. Dark colour: check. Kulorbar-able: check! 30 DKK = 6 USD. Also, check out that belt!!! It's the most amazing belt but unfortunately way too big for me, but I'm wearing it anyway. It's made up of three pieces, the middle piece is repeated at the top and bottom, but where it fastens, only the middle piece is present. Each piece is made of interlocking pieces of leather that look like pop can tabs. They are connected with a piece of leather that all three pieces hook on to, but only the middle piece continues on, and the leather thing tapers. It's kind of hard to explain but it looks really cool in person! Serious. 20 DKK = 4 USD.

So you can see the belt from the back. And the brand new tag hanging out!

So you can see the belt from the back. And the brand new tag hanging out!

The skirt was a size too big but it was kind of screaming my name. The skirt is an aubergine-y eggplanty burnt purple with the most ridiculous tomato-red paisley owl print. And it has pockets!!! Kind of perfect for summer. It is so cheery and ridiculous at the same time! 40 DKK = 8 USD.

The skirt was a size too big but it was kind of screaming my name. The skirt is an aubergine-y eggplanty burnt purple with the most ridiculous tomato-red paisley owl print. And it has pockets!!! Kind of perfect for summer. It is so cheery and ridiculous at the same time! 40 DKK = 8 USD.

Oh, and why all this photo taking clothes updating etc. you ask? Because in my post-trip boredom I have been blog surfing and have become acutely aware of my unstylishness. Not that I think my clothes are hids or anything, it’s just not very interesting. I think I really need to go thrift shopping when I go back to Toronto and just not tell my mom it’s thrifted because she’s afraid of germs.

1 Comment »

  1. ay baybay Said:

    can i tap dat


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

